My Bloody Valentine.

Posted: February 16, 2012 in SeeYouNextWednesday Reviews
Tags: , , ,

Now that 3D has become big, I really wanted someone to take advantage of it in horror and just do an easy horror movie, or a shocking horror movie, I’m not bothered, and just have body parts and blood fly towards you. That is what I wanted when I bought My Bloody Valentine the remake and that is what I got. I also got Jensen Ackles in 3D which is not a bad thing either. I love that man!

I definitely took a 3D ride to hell.....and LOVED it.

My Bloody Valentine, ‘Tom returns to his hometown on the tenth anniversary of the Valentine’s night massacre that claimed the lives of 22 people. Instead of a homecoming, however, Tom finds himself suspected of committing the murders, and it seems like his old flame is the only one will believes he’s innocent.’, is one entertaining movie. I really enjoyed it, loved it even, because it was just what I was looking for. I wanted an old fashion 3D movie, where everything comes flying towards you and you flinch to move out of the way of them. My Bloody Valentinehas that down to a T.  This is a film that uses the 3D technology for what it was meant for, body parts and blood flying towards you, weapons being thrusted towards you, basically just what you want out of a 3D movie.

To be honest, I have always had a very good relationship with 3D, I adore the Spy Kids movies, (yeah, I just admitted that), and Avatar was brilliant in 3D, even if I thought I was suddenly getting motion sickness at the beginning, so I was stoked for this. I love 3D, I’m one of them annoying people who wants EVERYTHING in 3D, but this is definitely my favourite 3D ‘thing’. This is what I have wanted and waited for all my life!

He looks gooood in 3D.

My Bloody Valentineis nowhere near slow with the gore, which is a big thumbs up for me, right at the beginning someone is killed with a pickaxe through the head and it literally feels and seems like that axe could hit you straight, smack in the face. To add to that, not only does it come through his head and towards you, his eyeball comes along for the ride at the end of the blade. Luckily, the film does not slow down from there, a jaw flies towards you at one very gruesome part and someone has a very painful run in with a tumble dryer. All of which are very detailed, drawn out and assisted by 3D technology where needed. Brilliant! (I was going to add a photo of some of the gore, but I didn’t want to run the shock for you. So instead, enjoy lovely photos of Jensen Ackles and the actual film. 🙂 )

My Bloody Valentine is full on tongue in cheek, it’s not a serious movie and puts all its effort into being that, full on gore throughout and the very memorable scene of the naked run from the killer. Most films would try to have some type of memorable story line as well as gore if it’s that type of movie. What it wouldn’t have however is a sex scene that leads to a completely naked woman running away from the killer for a couple of minutes. She stays fully naked the entire time. If a film adds a scene like it, it immediately turns it from a good, serious movie, to something that people are going to laugh about from years to come and that will never be taken seriously. This film is that throughout, it knows it’s not serious and definitely takes advantage of that. Just what I was looking for!

My Bloody Valentine definitely goes fully tongue in cheek and enjoys its gore but seems to lose its storyline in the end. I don’t mind this as I loved the tongue in cheek, but the twist seems like they literally ran out of ideas. Anyone could work it out, it’s very obvious, but hey, I didn’t watch it for a big twist or for anything I have to think about. I watched My Bloody Valentine for the gore and the objects flying at me through the 3D and that is what I got.

Basically, if you’re like me and just want an easy movie, that does what 3D technology was made for and just takes advantage of original, brilliant gore, My Bloody Valentine is definitely for you. If you want something with a difficult twist where you need to think, give this a go anyway, it doesn’t disappoint!

Damn, I shoulda posted this on Valentine's day.

Leave a Reply

