The Haunting.

Posted: March 1, 2012 in SeeYouNextWednesday Reviews
Tags: , , ,

The Haunting is a strange one. ‘Dr. Markway, doing research to prove the existence of ghosts, investigates Hill House, a large, eerie mansion with a lurid history of violent death and insanity. With him are the skeptical young

Luke, who stands to inherit the house, the mysterious and clairvoyant Theodora and the insecure Eleanor, whose psychic abilities make her feel somehow attuned to whatever spirits inhabit the old mansion. As time goes by it becomes obvious that they have gotten more than they bargained for as the ghostly presence in the house manifests itself in horrific and deadly ways.’ It was definitely scary but it was very mellow dramatic at the sane time. I kind of expected it to be though as it was made in 1963, I’m also not saying that as a bad thing, I love old films.

The Haunting is definitely scary, it’s that ‘scary’ that nowaday films miss, it’s the stuff that really scares, like noises or banging on the wall when there’s no one there. Reminds me of the Simpsons Treehouse of Horror where they take off The Raven. Now that scared me. Banging on the door, long corridor, no one there. The Haunting does all this and does it all well, I was scared. If it was just on that I would have said that this is a very good horror movie but I didn’t like the main character and I didn’t understand some of it. The main character Eleanor is having a hard time, living with her sister and her sister’s husband and just basically wants to go somewhere. She gets an invite to the house and decides that this is where she is meant to be and so plans to go and never come back. Well, she goes full Marsha from The Brady Bunch, talking to herself in her head and just acting strange, like so strange that she probably shouldn’t be able to leave the house on her own. I did like the others, well, I guess the other woman annoyed me too at some points, I feel my favourite character was definitely Luke who seems to be the only non-serious and normal person there. Eleanor just doesn’t seem all there, Theodore seems to just want a sister in a creepy sort of way and Dr John Markway is just pretty manipulative in everything. Luke was also the one who actually seemed to react in the most normal way and didn’t try to fling himself off the edge of the building.

Some scary stuff right there...

Overall, this movie did scare me, it is named one of the scariest movies and I agree, it  has no gore in it whatsoever, it is basically just sounds and your imagination which I think horrors these days miss. That whole thing where you don’t seen anything such as the ghost or monster, but it keeps the tension up and just using noise to scare you. The ending lost me though, completely. I was never fully with Eleanor and her ‘psychic’ ways. The horror of this film is good, I wish more films were like it, but I could have done without Eleanor and her third eye.

Leave a Reply

