Hellraiser.

Posted: March 2, 2012 in SeeYouNextWednesday Reviews

Hellraiser is a strange one. ‘An unfaithful wife encounters the zombie of her dead lover, who’s being chased by demons after he escaped from their sado-masochistic Hell.’ Yes, it really is that strange. The film starts out with a man, Frank, buying an antique puzzle-like box off a dealer, well you already know that this is not going to end well, when he gets back to his house, he decides to open it. In doing this he opens a portal to another world, a whole load of angry humanoids and some very sharp hooked chains which grab him, tear into him and into pieces. The humanoids then take him back through the portal. And that is just the start…

Basically, Frank’s brother Larry and his second wife Julia, who has previously had an affair with Frank, arrive at the house and move in, Larry’s daughter Kirsty decides to not live there and gets her own place. Smart move. When Larry cuts himself on a nail and bleeds in the room where Frank died, it manages to bring him back, but with a lot missing. You still with me? As Julia is still crazy about him after the affair, she agrees to help Frank get back to his old self and kills victims so he can take their blood and organs. After this main part, it then turns into a very strange montage of hammer killings, strange creatures and just blood.

The humanoids...I think

This is one of those films that I can’t really explain, it’s not overly confusing, just strange. It has an old puzzle box, a zombie lover, humanoids, a portal, it’s just strange. I mean, if the whole fact that Julia is married to her dead ex lover’s brothers isn’t enough, than the fact that this film contains a zombie, murder, humanoids and some type of portal, just throws it to another side of weird. It also ends with some flying creature stealing the box back after Kirsty sending the humanoids back and Frank wearing her dad as a wetsuit. Literally.

Another thing that I found while watching this was Pinhead, who always gets portrayed as a main character or the main character, he’s on the poster and is the character people associate most with this movie. But when you come to see Hellraiser, he’s not, he’s one of the humanoids who comes through the portal and isn’t actually seen that much. I mean I’m saying this one just the first Hellraiser, I haven’t seen the others and maybe he becomes a bigger character then, but in this he doesn’t and isn’t.

I’m not saying that I didn’t dislike this movie, I can’t fight that it’s not original, boy, its original, I have honestly never seen anything like it. But it was just strange, and there was just something about it that didn’t do it for me, I didn’t like Julia but for some strange reason, I liked Pinhead. I think that shows a movie you’re not impressed with when you like a humanoid more than the human. The gore was good, very bloody and I was impressed but the movie didn’t do it for me. I think it was just like someone had come up with a whole load of futuristic ideas and just shoved them all together. I also missed the whole sadistic thing about this movie, that’s not my strong point and according to some, that is the best thing about this movie. I know why it is memorable though…

Classic? No. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

