Open Water 2: Adrift.

Posted: March 14, 2012 in SeeYouNextWednesday Reviews
Tags: , ,

Now I’m not fully sure if this counts as a horror movie, according to some film websites it does, along with thriller and mystery, so I’ll give it a try. I’ll admit, I haven’t actually seen the first Open Water, on my TiVo this came up as Adrift so I didn’t really put two and two together. I also watched it because I’d heard that Richard Speight Jr was in it, and I like that guy. I feel bad doing this review because I like that man, I’ve met him, he’s a lovely guy and I feel bad for slating this. I’m sorry Richard but this is bad. I’m just going to think of you as The Trickster in Supernatural instead…

This was bad. Just bad. The people were all annoying, obviously, I’m afraid I’m slightly biased as I do like Richard Speight Jr, so apart from his character, they were all annoying. The film was dragged out way too much, I know that the film is about people stuck in the ocean but 127 Hours is about a man stuck down a hole, and that is brilliant. Scenes with silence and just the ocean were dragged out so long that I think I started Tweeting or something at the time.

I know I shouldn’t as well as it does say that it’s based on true events, but I couldn’t help thinking ‘don’t these people learn?!’, they got stuck in the water in the first one, you would have thought people would have learnt. I know it’s not the same people, but still, you hear things. Once again, I shouldn’t, but I found the whole situation that they were stuck next to their boat comical, they are just floating, stuck, right next to the yacht, how much bad luck is that!? At least in the first one they were left, it wasn’t their fault. In this one they’re all just tits who forget to put down the ladder. Couldn’t they have just climbed back up, it wasn’t that high a boat, and funnily enough spoiler they do in the end.

It just is not a good film. Nothing saves it. It’s not even so bad that it’s good. It’s just bad.

NJCon 2011 Karaoke Party - Richard Speight, Jr.

I'm sorry man! I do like you, but this was just bad...

Leave a Reply

