The Exorcism Of Emily Rose.

Posted: March 14, 2012 in SeeYouNextWednesday Reviews
Tags: , , ,

驅魔 The Exorcism of Emily Rose

The Exorcism of Emily Rose is a cleverly done film, ‘A lawyer takes on a negligent homicide case involving a priest who performed an exorcism on a young girl.’ The film tells you the story through the people who knew Emily Rose, what people saw, tape recordings and other ways with evidence, it all tells the story after she dies. All the clips of Emily you see are from what people are telling the court and it is well done, at times you can actually forget that it is all in the past.

 

 

I did like this movie but I feel I wanted more of the hallucinations, when Emily was being ‘taken over’, she would see people’s faces deform into some type of horrific creature and I wanted to see more of that type of thing. I wanted to see more of the look of whatever was inside her, like that. But one thing I can’t fault and that I was raving about afterwards was Jennifer Carpenter’s performance, she blew it outta the court! She is incredible in this, the way she twists her body and screams, it is literally like she is not human. I did read somewhere that they were going to use CGI or something until they realise she could do it all herself and better. She seems, literally, like she is being taken over by something or someone supernatural, one of the best performances I have ever seen. If you don’t normally like this type of movie, at least watch it to see that performance, at least watch a little, you MUST see her in this. I can’t fault it. Incredible.

 

Amazing.

I did like this movie, I liked the different take it had on this story, I liked that it was set out as the court case afterwards Emily Rose died and not up to it like The Exorcist. I think a few times, I was lost, one moment there is a dream type sequence when Emily sees herself and one of them is supposed to be The Virgin Mary…I think. But that’s not a big deal, it’s not a main plot and that was probably just me. Another good thing about this film is that you really got to know the characters, even Emily who was dead. The director really took the time to address the characters, you got to know them at the start and then followed them through the case. Erin was a lawyer who got given Father Moore’s case and both of them feel the force, both start suffering from ‘supernatural’ forces, noises in the middle of the night, both up at 3:00am, which is the devil’s hour, (it’s also an educational film, I learnt that!), and who you both follow through the case. You want them to win, you want Father Moore to go free, you believe his story, Emily Rose was not ill, she was taken over by something. You also feel for Emily Rose, you see how she suffers through it all and how most people just thought she was ill, you felt for her, you wanted her to be saved even though you know how it turned out in the end.

 

The fact that it is actually based on two real life events is also hard-hitting. The fact that at least two people went through similar things to what you see here is really hard. The film obviously changed things about the original stories to make it more film worthy, but it based on events.

 

Overall, I did enjoy this movie. There are a lot of these exorcism movies out there but I would highly recommend this one, it’s taken a different road to others and Jennifer Carpenter’s performance is incredible. If anything, watch it for her.

 

Why do exorcism movies always end up in barns?

 

Leave a Reply

