Jennifer’s Body.

Posted: March 26, 2012 in SeeYouNextWednesday Reviews

I didn’t think that I was going to get much out of this film apart from pretty young people and some gore, and that is pretty much what I did get. Jennifer’s Body ‘A newly possessed cheerleader turns into a killer who specializes in offing her male classmates. Can her best friend put an end to the horror?’ is a film that you can watch easily, it’s not horrendous but it’s not genius. It’s just an easy movie to watch.

Cover of "Jennifer's Body"

It’s good she’s pretty..

Jennifer’s Body is not a typical ‘good’ movie, by good movie I mean one that you can turn your brain off while watching and that you can watch without getting fully bored and losing your mind. I enjoyed watching it but I wouldn’t jump to see it again. It takes the route of a typical teen movie with the characters, the setting and the way the characters speak,”OMG”, shortining down just about every single word they could, that sort of thing. I guess it’s kind of like Twilight meets High School Musical with a hint of I Know What You Did Last Summer, but without the singing. Jennifer and ‘Needy’ are typical teenage girls, well typical in these types of movies, very close, I mean very very close, do everything together, even that very popular open mouth tongue kiss that every teen film seems to enjoy. I would say that this is a film that’s target audience is teen girls but to make sure that guys would see it, they added in Megan Fox who wears clothes but short and tight clothing and also the kiss, a big girl kiss.

I guess I didn’t hate this movie, it wasn’t horrendous, it was entertaining but I wouldn’t watch it again because I wanted to, not like a lot of movies. It was also slightly strange in some way, I don’t think some of it fitted, Megan Fox and Amanda Seyfried look too old for their roles, and that’s weird already but when Seyfried’s on-screen boyfriend actually looks the right age and she doesn’t that just weird. Especially when she’s at the same school as him, talks the same way, and so is obvious

One of the makeup designs in the film for Jenn...

Gosh.

ly trying to be the same age. I don’t mind age gaps in relationships but this is obviously not one, both characters are supposed to be the same age. I know that the director and co obviously wanted to use well known actors in this type of role but I’m pretty sure they could have found someone who at least looked the right ages. The whole thing turns it slightly comical, even my dad mentioned it and he only watched a little of it.

The gore and violence in this was on the spot for this type of movie, there wasn’t too much and there wasn’t too little, this is a teen movie after all. The death’s aren’t orignal but they do in this type of movie. Basically people ripped apart an people burnt to death. It’s enough for gore-lovers and not too much for the faint hearted. Because as I said, this is a teen movie. The CGI is quite good too, the demon side of Fox is impressive but the vomiting side of her is not.

Jennifer’s Body is a movie that is entertaining and you can turn your brain off while watching it but that’s it. The acting’s not too bad, but let’s just say, it’s good Megan Fox is pretty in someĀ parts. It’s not brilliant overall but what did you expect, honestly…

Leave a Reply

