Stephen King’s It.

Posted: April 3, 2012 in SeeYouNextWednesday Reviews
Tags: , , , , , ,

Hmmmmm. This was an unexpected disappointing film. I was so looking forward to seeing Stephen King’s It as I am a huge fan of Stephen King and I thought this would be so spooky and scary as it seemed to have stood the test of time. It was made in 1990 and yet it is still around today, still scaring people. I remember someone telling me about the famous boat in the drain scene years ago and it has always stuck with me. I mean, that must show a good movie right? Wrong. ‘In 1960, seven outcast kids known as “The Loser Club” fight an evil demon who poses as a child-killing clown. 30 years later, they are called back to fight the same clown again. ‘ I feel so bad saying this because I do really like Stephen King, I love his books and most of his films but this is just bad. It’s so bad, it’s laughable. I’m sorry Mr Stephen King!

This film is one of the corniest things I have ever seen in my life, four hours worth of corny TV to mention it. I had such high hopes for it being really scary but it just turned out to be really laughable, the acting was really really, maybe not bad but, corny, very very corny, I say the acting of everyone apart from Tim Curry. He was brilliant. absolutely brilliant, so creepy as Pennywise the clown, he is wasted in this. Well, I say that he is wasted, he stands out being that he is probably the only one in the entire movie who can actually act, in this film anyway. Tim Curry is brilliant, he is just brilliant, it is a very good performance and would be in a film where everyone could act. I feel bad saying that the actors in this can’t act as I do recognise at least one of them and in the film I saw them in they could act, but in It, they just couldn’t. It’s bad.

Stephen King’s It is a load of cheese. A load of strong cheese. I hope that the writers of it were having a laugh with it, I haven’t read the book so I don’t know whether the book is the same or whether it was made to be cornier on-screen. But the film is cheese, from the start and throughout its cheese. It’s like a B-movie but the villan is actually very well done, but  it’s not bad enough to be a B-movie. It just doesn’t have the B-movie feel. Some of the script could be in any B-movie, at the end of the grown up characters admits to the only woman in the group that he is still a virgin because she was his only one. Basically. Yep, it gets that corny. No pressure or anything on her then, especially when she is the only woman in the group. This is a film that probably could have been listed as a B-movie if it had only thought of itself as funny, unless it did and it failed. I don’t know… From that quote above, you wouldn’t have thought that it could get any worse, oh, you were so wrong! The ending does not let off on the corny side, turns out that Pennywise is some type of alien spider that he appears as in the end. It’s strange, and is full on bad horror CGI that you expect to see at about 2:00am in some movie. Spoiler They kill him and live happily ever after after all those years. Yay!

It is a film that even though it is very bad, insanely bad even, I had to finish it, all four hours of it. I mean, I think that’s saying something. It obviously had something that made me want to carry on watching it and didn’t turn off, what that was though I have no idea. Maybe because it was so corny and bad, maybe, subconsciously, it was so bad it was laughable and actually enjoyable, just for that one viewing. I definitely would not watch it again, 1) it was that bad that after you knew it all, it wouldn’t be funny the second or third time and 2) it was too long. It’s a TV movie so I think made out of TV episodes so literally like an eternity. Longer than Avatar but maybe slightly more fun…

Instead of watching the entire thing, maybe just watch the best parts on Youtube…

Comments
  1. [...] Stephen King’s It. (theslaughteredlamb.wordpress.com) [...]

  2. site says:

    fairly useful material, all in all I picture this is worthy of a bookmark, thanks

Leave a Reply

