Audition.

Posted: September 24, 2012 in SeeYouNextWednesday Reviews
Tags: ,

Audition is strange, that is the main thing I can say about it. It’s strange. Very strange. ‘A widower takes an offer to screen girls at a special audition, arranged for him by a friend to find him a new wife. The one he fancies is not who she appears to be after all.’

 

Audition (film)

Yeah…she looks nice…

 

To some I’m sure it’ll be like a work of art and will be all artsy, but to me, it was just strange. It starts off as quite a nice film, in some ways, and then just goes down the weird road, the very weird little slip road off the weird road actually. It’s all filmed in what seems like a dream like sequence, either dream like or old, this made it kind of confusing as some is done in flashbacks and dreams. By the end of it, I pretty much had no idea what was real and what was a dream. It also had some plot holes, not overly big ones but noticeable ones. I feel I’m jumping ahead, I’ll go back a bit.

 

So it starts with a widow, who decides he getting lonely…speed dating, clubbing I hear you shout? No, hold auditions for women, because it’s such a normal thing to do. He, with some help from his friend a director, sets up an audition for a film where, basically, he’ll be the shoulder to cry on for the person who doesn’t get the part, the person crying is the person he decides he wants as a future wife. Jump ahead and he chooses Asami…the one who the entire audience is shouting “NO. DON’T DO IT! SHE’S NOT WHO YOU THINK SHE IS!”. Well I was, and did he listen? Nope, course not. No one knows anything about her, no past can be found on her, yet he falls for her. I will warn you, we are getting close to spoilers but as you know, I will should in bold letters when there is one.

Audition is set out as a perfect horror movie is set out, just longer. It’s happy with no problems literally up until right at the end, when it all goes tits up. The happiness in this film lasts a lot longer than most other films, nothing really goes wrong, there are hints at things going a little crazy and dreams that should be taken to see a therapist but apart from that it’s all hunky dory.

Now I know I said about spoilers, but I’m not going to say any, all I’m going to say is that the ending is messed up, it’s not for the faint hearted and is literally like a punch in the face after a drawn out bar fight. You knew it was all coming, but you didn’t know it would be that bad. If people have seen it. then you know what I’m on about. The end is…an ending.

Overall, Audition is an interesting film, I saw it because of how disturbing it was supposed to have been but I didn’t find it that bad, the ending is an ending but I won’t be watching it again anytime soon, I just found it kind of all over the place and that the ending was the only thing I really enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

