Boy Eats Girl.

Posted: January 16, 2013 in SeeYouNextWednesday Reviews
Tags: , , , , ,

Boy Eats Girl was on the Horror Channel. Late at night. And from the start looks low budget. All of these point to a bad movie. But actually, I was pleasantly surprised. ‘A boy declares his love for his girlfriend, only to die the same night. He is brought back to life by his mother as a flesh-craving zombie, who sires more teen undead while trying to control his, er, appetite for his beloved.’ Most films I see that follow those steps turn into really bad movies that, somehow, I finish and then feel sad because I’ve just lost an hour and a half of my life I will never get back. But this was different, I actually rather enjoyed this film. Image

Boy Eats Girl, from the start, is a comical movie, just the title of it makes you think that. It starts off low budget and sticks that way through, I’ll be honest, I can be slightly biased and be put off by low budget movies, I think I could call myself a film-snob, but I do stick with most of them, and I did with this, and it was good I did.

I did enjoy this movie, the acting wasn’t oscar winning and the gore was low budget but it was good and worked with the film, the comical side of the film worked seriously well for it, which I think is where a lot of low budget movies go wrong. If this one had gone down the really serious route, it definitely would not have worked. Image

Most of the characters were also likeable, especially Nathan two mates, they were honestly hilarious. Exactly what you wanted during a zombie apocalypse… Jessica, Nathan’s love interest was getting on my nerves throughout it for various reasons, but apart from that, I liked everyone, they had every character, the cute hero, his hilarious friends, the bully, the slutty girls, everyone, and it all worked.

I would thoroughly recommend this, its not the best but it doesn’t think it is. You know and they know the dead bodies being grinded up aren’t real and that knife that someone just stabbed a zombie with isn’t real. The mum from Moone Boy is also Nathan’s mum, which makes it seem less scary too, but that’s just me. Going back, if you want a comical, doesn’t take itself too seriously, horror film, watch this one. Where instead of boy meeting girl, boy tries to eat the girl. Ha. Brilliant.  Image

Leave a Reply

