The Cabin In The Woods is definitely different. But for me that was a good different. ‘Five friends go for a break at a remote cabin in the woods, where they get more than they bargained for. Together, they must discover the truth behind the cabin in the woods.’ I’m not fully sure what exactly to say about it as I don’t want to give any spoilers away. And there are a lot.

So this is a film, that doesn’t really hide anything from you, well it does, but it gives some of the biggest clues away from the start. Like when the gang are first driving to the Cabin, they drive through a tunnel on the side of a cliff, and the camera pans to a bird flying past the tunnel. Until it hits what looks like Violet Parr’s safety shield from The Incredibles, the daughter. Y’know the one I mean, a force field, the bird literally flies into something that looks like that and that obviously does the same job. As soon as that bird flies into that mysterious force field, you know this is going to be something different, for the film makers to show you something like that so early on, is brilliant ballsy. They had to have something bigger up their sleeves to keep it going and luckily for them, they did.

English: Log Cabin This log cabin is situated ...

This one looks slightly less sinister…

The film starts off, minus the whole bird-force field thing, as a normal horror movie, a group of friends excited and off on a little holiday getaway. The norm. You also have the normal types of people, obviously I’m stereotyping as most horror movies do. (I’m not saying that in a bad way, I love that I know all the rules and who’s going to die first!), you have the slutty couple who normally consist of the slut and the jock. The nerd friend, the nice one and then the virgin. This is all the normal horror slasher movie and seems like its leading to be just another horror slasher movie – if I didn’t know about the film, that is what I would have thought, I would have enjoyed it, but it would have just been like another horror film.

 

As much as I would like to talk about this film because it is generally a very clever, enjoyable film, I don’t want to spoiler it for anyone and if I’m honest…I don’t know what is a spoiler and what isn’t. There are just so many clever twists and just clever ideas running through it. In some ways, its like Scream, but a weirder one, as in, it laughs at horror movies. It takes all the normal aspects and ‘rules’ out of them and uses them but also twists them on their heads, like the whole ‘the virgin survives’ rule. It takes that and laughs right in its face.

If I was to say anything about it, I would say see it, it is an original movie, a very original movie. See it especially, if you are a horror fan like me. I sat there going ‘this is so clever!’ while my parents, who aren’t as big horror fans as me but still enjoy the odd ones, sat there going ‘this is clever, but weird’. So see it, especially if you’re a horror fan. GO!  Everyone always complains there are no original horror movies, well, here you are!

Leave a Reply

