The title pretty much says it all. ‘Boris Arkadin is a horror film maker. His pregnant wife was brutally murdered by a Manson-like gang of hippy psychopaths during the 1960s. He becomes a virtual recluse – until years later he directs his own snuff inspired movies. He invites actors to take part in an audition at his country manor house – blurring the lines of what is real and what is fiction.’

Snuff-Movie (film)

Snuff Movie is….interesting….to say the least and to say it in the least way it sounds bad that I am talking about a movie called Snuff Movie. I also don’t think that the above poster is for the Snuff Movie I’m talking about as it doesn’t look anything like mine, but I’m not doing anymore image searches…!  So basically, it starts out showing footage off an old camera, where you start seeing people being murdered, very similar to the Manson murders back in the 60s, where Charles Manson’s cult followers, the ‘Manson Family’ went to Director Roman Polanski’s house and murdered everyone there including pregnant Sharon Tate. I did quite enjoy the fact though that my best mate, who was watching this with me and who bought it for me, did not know anything about the murders so I had to fill her in. Yes! Useless knowledge will be used! She then went onto Googling it all and turns out I knew a  lot…whether that’s good, I’m not sure…

Okay, back to the movie and off my knowledge of murders, me and my best mate buy each other horror movies for Birthdays, Christmas and such because we do ‘Horror days’, horror days consist of just watching horror movies and eating, basically, This is a tradition. For the last one, where she gave me Snuff Movie alongside Feardotcom, (see my other review), we decided we are going to start just buying each other theeee worst horror movies we could find. Luckily, this fit right into this bill. Snuff Movie is not the best movie, but then from a name like Snuff Movie, I wasn’t expecting all that much. And I didn’t really get that much, it was just a weird film.

Snuff (film)

Still not sure if this is this film…

The concept of it is good, where a director gets a whole load of actors to do a film, but actually its a real film. It is a clever concept but it was just a weird film – the main woman wasn’t that likable, she was just….. naive I’ll say. Getting fully naked in an audition, I’d hope most people would have more respect from themselves than to do something that would make them that uncomfortable but she obviously didn’t. These are people who are desperate to be on film and will do literally anything and just lose their brains over it, all common sense just leaves them. Even the Police aren’t fully with it, they get a call from the woman’s husband who’s watching it all online and has seen someone murdered. The Police go and investigate where they are greeted by so much blood and the director, he tells them its all fake, (it’s not) and they just go ‘hahahaha, oh okay’ and leave. No, ‘oh okay, but we’ve had a complaint to we better just check it out’, or ‘there is a lot of blood and a decapitated head, how did you do all of this?’, or anything, they just leave.

I didn’t hate the movie, it just wasn’t that good, it could have been a lot better. The two films inside a film didn’t really work either I feel, as one was better than the other and they definitely could have made more of the better one. The two films were also weird, one was the home filmed Manson one and the other was the fake film one. The fake film one could have been so good but it wasn’t. And the Manson one I just didn’t like, for one, it was basically a recreation of The Manson Murders and so didn’t really need any work and two, I hated the way it was shot. The second one had so many good ideas, like the husband only being able to the murders and that and the actual website and just the whole ‘they think its fake, it’s not thing’.

Overall, good concept of one of the mini films, the other was literally just a copy that anyone could have made. I won’t be seeing this again in a hurry, sadly, as I did like the idea of one of them. I’m off to read up on old murders now.

 

Even though I didn’t like it, the other mini movie was good with the nod to old horror. (Boris..)

 

Leave a comment